Automotive Rear Upright/Wheel Carrier

Discussion in 'Lost foam casting' started by Al2O3, Nov 25, 2018.

1. ESC

ESC Silver Banner Member

Same here David. Especially with x, y .and z DROs. The part is made before the computer boots up although not in multiples.
    Sorry for the hijack Kelly.

DavidF likes this.
  2. I'm a novice, but using Fusio360 and Mach3 on my CNC router it cuts foam like a dream. But I'm not good enough with Fusion360 to make fast work of it and don't have enough work to spend the time studying yet. My software has never failed and I can run overnight programs unattended. Flat items are easy but the stepover Kelly mentions eats up the time on curves.

I think Kelly is right on target with what he is doing. I'm really enjoying the show.

3. garyhlucas

garyhlucas Silver

Yes CamBams 40 session tryout is very generous. I bought my copy because I did so much machining during the trial it felt like I was stealing it! I bought another copy for the big CNC bed mill at work. Does everything we need and it gets used almost everyday for one offs. 10 pieces is a big run for us.

4. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

All four of the new patterns are now detailed. I attached the bobs and sprue same as the previous pattern. The bobs make good feet for drying the pattern. I slush coated the interior cores the same as on previous pattern. I wanted to dip coat the entire pattern but it’s large enough that it would have required nearly a 5-gallon bucket full of slurry. After experimenting on some scrap foam, I decided I could just brush the drywall compound that had been thinned to dipping consistency.