1st Set of Foundry Tools Question

Discussion in 'Foundry tools and flasks' started by Ryan, May 10, 2019.

1. Ryan

Ryan Lead

Hey everyone, I am nearing completion building my first foundry ever. I've been a manufacturing engineer for 12 years, and I worked with a'lot of casting vendors for various projects. But I have never done any metal casting myself, hence I know enough but only enough to be dangerous. I've always found it helpful to ask for advice when getting into new territory and here I am...

I am in the process of designing my first set of foundry tools to extract the hot crucible from the foundry and pour it into something useful. I've noticed (in general) in both home and industry applications I have researched uses a two tool approach. A set of crucible tongs to lift the crucible from the foundry and then a separate pouring ladle to pour the melt. I've seen some combinations of this idea and decided to explore building a single tool that can lift the crucible from the foundry and then also have a swivel point to use to pour.

Something like a set of log lifting scissors, I've uploaded two images to this post to show my thoughts while still in the CAD realm before I build anything.

My thoughts are I can see this tool concept working from a "does it get the job done" standpoint. But I am concerned from a safety standpoint. A single point lift and pour has some obvious benefits, most specifically on speed and body posture to be able to pour heavy melts. I have some bigger projects in mind requiring 15-20 pound melts, I'll obviously start in a smaller scale... but I want to plan ahead best I can