The best of the best burners!

Discussion in 'Burners and their construction' started by OMM, Jun 8, 2019.

1. OMM

OMM Silver

Let’s assume we needed to be totally portable. And we only a have hook up of 120 V at 15 A.

So my monster air compressor, it is now out of the running...

I don’t want to use propane! (Maybe just a small torch if needed.)

I only want to use diesel & recycled car engine oil...but mainly engine oil.

Remember this is portable. (No 30 foot rigging for elevation to pressurize The fuel source. In 20 to 30°C outside temperatures.)

Enough combustion to melt cast-iron.

Remember I’m new to this game. But I’m sure if we all put our minds together... maybe I’ll/we’ll come up with something!

The reason I am asking this is, I might be building this summer a small foundry shed in my backyard with primary heating source being used motor oil.

Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
  2. Jason

Jason Gold

3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

I think preheating a drip without propane or a compressor will be a challenge. Another option for preheating is to build a wood fire, but that gets sparky and tedious. I haven't watched any of Glumpys many vids lately, but he gets fire from waste oil with minimal or no preheat. Ironsides started a thread recently here that might get you going. I think that's what Jason is referring to above.
    Another possibility might be to use an atomizing nozzle like a Delevan. Not like the "siphons" that many of us use with compressors (me included), but one that atomizes by means of a pump. PatJ posted a pretty comprehensive comparison explanation of those types of nozzles awhile ago.. Maybe he can post a link to it.