New to spruing

Discussion in 'Lost wax casting' started by LJLundgren, Jul 25, 2020.

1. LJLundgren

LJLundgren Copper

Hello. I’m very new to casting. I’ve casted a handful of things all with lost wax investment casting. Right now I need help with spruing.
    I’m making a little base for a bear sculpture but the only way I can support it is by holding it up with a wire. It needs to be vertical in order to fit in my flask. Just wondering if there is a better way? Any advice or tips are welcome. upload_2020-7-25_16-28-5.jpeg

Attached Files:

2. Jason

Jason Gold

Welcome aboard dude! I would run one fat sprue to the base of the cavity and then run a few smaller ones from the edge back to either the cup or on the main.
    Look at how I sprued the fox. This method works good for hollow cavities like your piece here.

20180321_004301.jpg

LJLundgren likes this.
  3. Jason

Jason Gold

4. LJLundgren

LJLundgren Copper

That looks like a simple way to do it. The problem I’m running into is that if I have it flat like that it won’t fit into my flask. It’s too long. That’s why I tried suspending it with a wire more vertical. If I pour the investment in it the way it is now, the wire will be in there for good. I don’t know if that’s a problem. I don’t think I’ve seen people use wires. It seems like they always get the wax to hold itself up.
    Maybe it’s just my stupid homemade sprues.

If I remember correctly you used a slurry to do the fox, I’d like to try some slurry sometime but right now all I have is investment.
    Why do people use a slurry vs investment?

5. Jason

Jason Gold