Anyone interested? 2cycle cylinder

Discussion in 'Request casting service' started by Red97, Feb 6, 2018.

1. Red97

Red97 Copper

I am brand new to foundry/casting work. I realize these will not be a very good "learning" project.

Just wondering if anyone would be interested in making 3 of these for me.

It is a chainsaw cylinder for a hybrid project. Basically 4" cubed.

Very flexible with pretty much everything regarding this part. Would like at least the first 6-7fins from the top. Intake/exhaust port with enough material to machine to spec

20180205_131805.jpg
    This is the transfer tunnel area, I need to add some material to make that wider than the base. Roughly 1/8"

20180205_131810.jpg
    Intake port ^ can me made rectangular shaped all the way to the od if it is easier.

20180205_131758.jpg

Exhaust port. Same here just make a rectangular block all the way to the back. No need for the shapes etc.

20180205_131824.jpg

Cylinder bore, combustion chamber.

That cylinder is currently 45mm bore, my plan is to bore it out for a 52mm bore iron sleeve. Need to make sure the diameter between the fins is at least 61mm or 2.4" if it is easier I can provide the iron sleeve to cast in.

I don't need any of the ports cast through the jug. Same with the holes, a solid block with the fins and general profile will work fine.

Not in any hurry, if you are interested let me know.

This is the first hybrid I built, had to make all sorts of spacers/ modifications to the muffler.

My goal is to just do the machine work to the cylinder and have a bolt on affair anyone could do.

Thank you
    Joe

I'm going to go back to reading/learning all the stuff here.

2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

There is a guy who goes by jhenise, and he made his own two-stroke cylinder in a build here:
    http://www.alloyavenue.com/vb/showt...-motorcycle-racing-cylinder&highlight=jhenise

He is a very clever chap from out west, and has some good machines, and lots of skill in pattern making, etc.