Tig welding aluminum

Discussion in 'Castings, finishing/ repair/ and patina's' started by Zapins, Sep 5, 2018.

1. Zapins

Zapins Gold

If I need to weld cast aluminum and layer it up so it is about a third or half an inch thick. Fill in some gaps etc is that going to work in the same way you can layer and fill in bronze or steel?

I've never tried aluminum before and want to double check before I go this route.

My tig can draw 40 amps at the moment (without upgrading to water cooled and a bigger cable).

2. Same way. Of course there are differences in setup you need to look up, like blunt tungsten.

3. Zapins

Zapins Gold

Yep. Already familiar with that . The tip melts into a ball which is weird but expected.

I'm thinking of casting a 3d printed extrusion screw for the wax extruder and casting it in aluminum. But it would have to be done in at least 2 or 3 pieces and welded together. Way beyond the capacity of one #16 crucible.

I am also thinking of taking it to an amish iron caster in lancaster pa and paying him to pour it for me in iron. Still figuring it out.

4. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Zap, Im assuming you mean only pull 40 amps from the wall?? It takes alot of amps to tig aluminum. It sucks the heat away very fast.
    Cat tail foundry?? How big is the part your trying to cast up??

5. Zapins

Zapins Gold

Yes pulls 40 amps. If I could ever get an electrician to help me install an arc fault breaker so I could meet the God damn code in CT and guarantee that it would work on an arc fault I could use the full 100 amps with a water cooled torch.

The part is fairly large. Probably about 2.5 feet long by about 3 inches in diameter although it is hollow inside (maybe 1 inch of hollow space?). It would be better if I could scale it down a little more and keep half inch thick walls but I'll need to fiddle with mesh mixer a bit more and see if I can figure out how to thin it down more.