Cast aluminum steady rest

Discussion in 'Pattern making' started by Glenn Castor, Nov 3, 2018.

1. Glenn Castor

Glenn Castor Copper

I am new to foundry world, so I need some advice. I have made this pattern, it is a steady rest for my lathe. I was wondering if cast aluminum would be strong enough for a steady rest. The steady rest will be for machining the cut ends of aluminum cylinders

Attached Files:

joe yard likes this.
  2. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I would be willing to bet that casting it in aluminum will be plenty strong for most lathe work. I have seen quite workable steadies made from PLYWOOD! Generally, a steady is not heavily loaded unless taking quite heavy cuts.

Your pattern looks like it should cast well as you have included plenty of draft and it is fairly "chunky." So, one would not expect it to be finicky to cast.

Iron would be a bit better, of course, but from the way you phrase your question, you know that and I assume casting it in aluminum is much more practical for your circumstances.

Looks like fun. Let us know how you come out.

Denis

3. Glenn Castor

Glenn Castor Copper

Thanks, now that you mentioned it, I have seen wooden steady rest. This will be mostly used for cleaning up the cut end of aluminum tanks. Cast iron is beyound me right now lol

4. Colchester lathes have had aluminium steady rests since the 1960's, much easier to lift than the cast iron versions and the casting just has to be designed to take the materials strength into account. Some aluminium alloys are stronger than cast iron, they just don't dampen vibrations as well.

Glenn Castor likes this.
  5. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

One comment not directly related to the question of strength but maybe still worth considering: