Advice on which furnace design to use

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Lewis, Jul 16, 2019.

1. Lewis

Lewis Copper

hello all im new to forging and new to the forums. ive done a lot of reading and learning on the subject and i have come to the point where i have 3 versions of furnace i can build.
    ill be using used fryer oil as the fuel as its free for me. i cant afford to buy lots of gas.
    i need the furnace to have a decent life span and after reading a lot of veterans saying the wished their first was bigger i want to build it with progression in mind.
    i want to melt cast iron, copper alloys and aluminium alloys and i want to fit an A16 crucible in it though my first will be a fair bit smaller

what i have already:
    all the parts to make a simple gravity fed oil burner
    leaf blower
    55 gallon oil drum.

ive costed the 3 designs i have at the moment as follows.
    thin walled cast refractory.
    internal dimensions of 350mm (14.5"ish) height and about the same for the diameter
    refractory will be 1600 degree cast face 25mm thick all round
    backing will be a simple clay sand mixture tamped in behind it for insulation
    base would be the same with a 25mm thick layer of refractory and a 40mm tall cast refractory plinth
    lid would be a cast refractory again 25mm thick with flue backed with some 1400 degree ceramic fiber
    cost for the materials for this is £125

second design is purely refractory brick similar in size andshape to the simple one posted by oldironfarmer
    inner dimensions would be almost the same as the first on and it would cost £195

the third is the most expensive but seems to me to have a very long life potential. it would be high grade insulating fire brick in the same design as above rated for 1530 with a 10mm thick cast refractory face all around to protect the bricks but this costs £240