Im New let me introduce myself

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Lewis, Jul 16, 2019.

1. Lewis

Lewis Copper

hello everyone, thought id come and introduce myself and start to get to know you all.

my names lewis im a mature aerospace engineering student in the uk and ive been wanting to get going with casting for some time but for a number of reasons not gotten started before

i have very limited experience with casting namely using an oxy aceteline torch to melt some silver and cast a few (poor quality) rings some years ago but nothing more substantial.

ive joined up to ask for some advice on building the furnace itself but ill make a seperate thread for that.

im mostly interested in casting bronzes and iron at some point i would like to be able to cast some iron impellers however i want to start off with simpler stuff first.

ive found it very interesting and educational reading the forums so far and i hope to be able to contribute and be a part of the community here
    anyway i hope thats a fair introduction if you have any questions just let me know

2. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Gold Banner Member

Welcome to the forums, sounds like you've got some interesting projects in mind.

Jeff

3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome Lewis,
    You've come to the right place. There are a good number of successful furnace designs here as well as tried and true burners. Beware of YouTube. There's some great stuff out there, but a lot of bad information too and it can be hard to sort out (although shorts and flip flops are a good indicator). There are a lot of ways to do this on the cheap but don't be afraid to spend a little when it's warranted.
    Happy casting!

Pete

4. Lewis

Lewis Copper

Thankyou for the welcome Pete, Jeff.