Wisconsin Foundryman

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Tony, Oct 15, 2019.

1. Tony

Tony Copper

Hi everyone,

I just discovered this forum a few days ago and have been reading nonstop ever since. I'm in the process of slowly piecing together my own home foundry/fab shop/machine shop. My only problem is the only thing I'm usually interested in making is tools that I can use to make more tools lol.

Any way, I am a millwright/ foundryman by trade in an iron foundry but I also am trying to get into it as a hobby. I picked up an electric jewlers furnace at an antique shop a while back and was wondering if any of you have used an electric melt furnace? 20191015_190354.jpg
    It was a steal and I couldn't pass it up at $50 gotta love antique shops.

Also thanks for all the entertaining threads you guys have posted, I've enjoyed reading them.

Tony

Jason likes this.
  2. rocco

rocco Silver

Welcome.
    Kelly (aka Al2O3) uses an electric furnace and I think he's got a build thread for it too.

Tony likes this.
  3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome Tony,
    I'm fully in the tools to make tools trench. There's a few of us like that here and I'm sure you'll feel at home.
    Your "new" furnace looks interesting. Can you post a pic of the inside, controls, etc? Power requirements? Inquiring minds want to know!

Pete

Tony likes this.
  4. Jason

Jason Gold

Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
    Tony likes this.
  5. Tony

Tony Copper

Thanks for the welcome everyone, I'll have to check out his thread. Here are some inside pictures. I believe it is from the 60's, it runs on 120v and I think it is supposed to get up to 2000 degrees. I've ran it up to a few hundred just to make sure it works, but haven't melted anything in it yet. 20191015_190406.jpg 20191015_190420.jpg 20191015_190424.jpg 20191015_190434.jpg

I plan on eventually building a homemade furnace and melting iron but would like to start with some aluminum, and brass.

6. Tony