Looking into picking up a Tig

Discussion in 'Other metal working projects' started by crazybillybob, Jun 25, 2020.

1. crazybillybob

crazybillybob Silver Banner Member

Ok,
    I don't want a bunch of RED and Blue argument If I had the cash for either one I'd be asking about them ;)

I'm looking at picking up a starter AC/DC Tig. I have a little scratch start dc unit and have welded with oxy torches in the past. I'm not saying I'm a welder...Still better at grinding :D But I'm to the point where I want to weld thicker stuff and try out my hand on some aluminum.
    I'm looking at 2 units (but open to suggestions in the same price bracket)
    Primeweld 225
    https://primeweld.com/products/tig-225x-ac-dc-tig-welder
    WeldPro 200
    https://weldpro.com/product/weldpro...witch-dual-voltage-220v-110v-welding-machine/

Anyone have any feedback or a push in one direction or the other?
    On paper both units are about the same. Both companies are said to have good support.
    I'm leaning toward the Weldpro because of the digital (less knobs for me to break) front panel.

I had been looking at the AHP but they're back ordered till mid August at this point.

Thanks guys!

2. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I can only comment on the CK Worldwide torch and cable. I love mine as the flex head feature is very useful and the cable is very flexible. You will appreciate those qualities which are not commonly present in many torches.

Denis

Last edited: Jun 25, 2020
  3. Jason

Jason Gold

For your budget. I'd wait for the new Aphatig and get that. A friend of mine just bought an ESAB with some bs fancy screen on it. It has ZERO features, no pedal, no HF start and is DC only. Needless to say, it's going back. No red/ blue argument from me. Blue is stupidly overpriced and Red is made south of the border with far east parts.
    That ahp comes with CK gear. I've got a ck torch and love it.