Hello from Ontario

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Bldr J, Jan 1, 2021.

1. Bldr J

Bldr J Copper

Hello from Canada.

I have zero casting experience, but watched one of my clients cast a bronze sword and was instantly hooked, I never thought it was within the realm of the hobbyist.

I am in the beginning stages of building a propane tank furnace, but am having second thoughts on the design/process, thinking it may be too small for some of the items I may want to cast. I'm a contractor/designer/tinkerer and like to suggest things to my customers that don't exist or aren't readily available, leaving myself to figure out how to make it...I'm now on the hook for making a shower valve trim plate and accessories for a copper shower I'm putting in. I had a machinist set to make it for me, but am thinking casting might be more appropriate.

I have a crucible (A5) some 2" ceramic wool, some petrobond like material and a few bags of Unicast 70 which was recommended, but I now feel has too much thermal mass. I was able to pick up some Charles Hones "Buzzer" burners out of a salt-bath furnace which I'm hoping to use with propane as the fuel (for now). I also have a Charles Hones 55 forge/furnace (natural gas) that I'd someday like to hook up.

I have some rudimentary metalworking skills, can weld, and am currently learning how to use my baby CNC lathe, but nowhere near skilled.

On to making the furnace now...or researching...

2. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Gold Banner Member

Hello and welcome to the home foundry from just outside Ottawa ON, Bldr.

I have a furnace I made using Unicast 70. Did you get yours from from Smelko Foundry Products in Milton too?

It does have a lot of thermal mass to heat up, so it can seem a bit slow if you will normally be doing just one pour starting with a cold furnace. However once heated up it holds that heat well. I use mine with a powerful waste oil/diesel burner