Another keg furnace

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by joe yard, Feb 16, 2018.

1. joe yard

joe yard Silver

I am new to the form but have been learning quite a bit reading the post.
    I am not new to foundry work entirely. I have had a bit of green sand experience.
    I need a furnace that can cast bronze. I have accumulated the items in the condition pictured. The keg is very nicely cut. There are 3 rather unprofessional tabs for ? buck riveted to the top, 120 degrees from each other.
    If the liner is centered in the keg it gives an annular spacing of 3 inch and an average of 3 inch on the top and bottom. At this time a picture is worth a thousand words. I have run some test on refractory that I will post later.
    The fuel plan at this time is a 3/4 inch residential NG line and I will be using a petroleum based fuel secondary also.
    So this is where I am and I would like ANY advice and or questions on how to proceed. I do not like to look back and question if I should have looked forward and questioned. foundry keg with liner.JPG foundry keg.JPG foundry liner.JPG

Mark's castings likes this.
  2. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome to the forum. So what does that give you for a bore diameter? It looks like someone went to a fair amount of trouble to make the bore components. Any idea what they're made of? It's nice that the keg is already squarely cut. I didn't find it terrible difficult to cut mine, but it was unpleasent. I cut the inner part of the lid out of mine and poured refractory in, backed by kaowool. The groove in the lid acts as a support for the refractory. My build is over at Alloy Avenue
    http://www.alloyavenue.com/vb/showthread.php?12721-Pete-s-new-furnace

The keg is a great vessel for a furnace but working with the stainless (cutting, drilling holes, welding) was kind of a pain in the ass. I'd personally probably use something else next time, but the lack of rustiness is kinda nice.

Pete