New Member from NH

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Fasttrack, May 22, 2023.

1. Fasttrack

Fasttrack Copper

Hello from NH!

I've got a diverse background as a machinist, engineer, and physicist. One of my passions is restoring old machine tools and my personal collection of lathes, milling machines, and shapers tips the scales at a little over 65,000 lbs - almost entirely cast iron! Consequently, I have a lot of experience welding and brazing cast iron but I've never done any casting.

I'm interested in casting machine parts as well as casting straightedges and other tools for precision scraping. I've been reading old texts on the subject (e.g. from the 1910s and earlier!) figuring that the technology back then was more relevant to a home foundry than modern day foundry practices. But I'm a complete novice.

As much as I'd love to jump right into the deep end with a large furnace doing 100 lb. pours, I'm practical enough to realize that's a recipe for disaster. So I'm thinking I will start small and try casting some mortise lock parts. I'm remodeling an 1890s house and I'd like to preserve the old mortise lock sets on all the doors but the innards are pretty worn out.

Anyway, very glad to have found this forum. Tons of valuable information and a community of like minded people. I'm sure I'll have lots of questions as I actually start building and - hopefully - pouring!

Tobho Mott likes this.
  2. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member

Welcome aboard! We do like pictures of old machine tools and projects and stuff... :)

3. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome fasttrack.