Help me make another attempt at shell casting

Discussion in 'Investment casting Ceramic shell method' started by 01binary, Jul 2, 2018.

1. Zapins

Zapins Gold

I'd add several smaller connections between the main sprue and the body of the piece you are casting. Angle them so they start at the main sprue and then travel upwards to the piece. That way metal won't pour down the main shaft and splatter into the different parts but it will rather let the mold fill from the bottom up without having to send all the metal through that small bottom connection.

Also the extra connections add stability. When you are coating it the entire structure is going to be extremely fragile and prone to breaking if you try it like it is.

2. Jason

Jason Gold

Good idea zap.. it will strengthen the shell. BUT if he dewaxes in boiling water, the piece wont drain properly. I've been spruing upside down for 2 years and never had an issue. Or I have really good aim and pouring speed.;)

3. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

If you go back to page one of this thread and look at figure 3, that's how I would arrange them. A one inch sprue down the center sprue cup to bottom left with mounting blocks the size of the flats on the parts and just a couple vents on those high spots... Boom done! :cool:

4. 01binary

01binary Copper

Autoclaving didn't work - maybe you have some ideas why. I did go on to try and vitrify the shell that didn't shatter and had a few cracks, but then the kiln burned out.

5. Jason

Jason Gold