Casting request exploratory...

Discussion in 'Request casting service' started by Matus, Nov 27, 2022.

1. Matus

Matus Copper

I've been doing lost foam casting for a while to avoid paying the massive expense of getting a custom part fabricated by CNC machining large billet blocks. I typically cast parts slightly larger than my final part will need, and then of course machine it and drill any necessary holes.

I'm not a casting expert though and am currently troubleshooting failed castings, so I thought I'd see what it would cost to cast the next part I'm working on by someone who does this all the time and knows how to do it well.

I'm looking at this part, it would basically be two 6" OD discs about 3/4" thick connected by a tube 3.5" OD tube, with a hollow center of 2-3/8" going through all of them. I'll machine it down to final dimensions and drill all holes necessary. The final part would look like this:

upload_2022-11-27_15-5-6.png

Here's the drawing with all the final dimensions:

upload_2022-11-27_15-8-6.png

Of course the pattern would just be the two discs and the center tube and be larger to compensate for the shrinking after casting and the machining, I was adding at least .125" all around. My current pattern looks like:
    upload_2022-11-27_15-10-54.png

I haven't tried casting it yet because simpler smaller castings for me failed.

I'd like to save the sprue so I can stress test it later to get a general approximation of the strength of the casting. It's well over-engineered for it's purpose but I still like to collect the data.