Casting tiny(for me) parts

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by chucketn, Aug 28, 2018.

1. chucketn

chucketn Copper

I am making patterns for some steam engine parts I want to cast in aluminum. These patterns have been drawn up in Fusion 360 from plans in old books, magazines, and in one case, from copies of the original blue prints from a 1940’s toy manufacturer. I have split the patterns in what I think is the appropriate parting line , and in one example, added core prints.

Though I have been casting aluminum for several years, albeit not every day, I have never attempted anything this small.

I have both greensand, and some petrobond. I plan to use the petrobond, as it is much finer and should yield good detail. My problem is where do I gate, where to put sprue and risers, and how big should each be? I would like to combine the arts in one mold if possible.

Have a look at the patterns and make any recommendations as necessary.

Attached Files:

2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

myfordboy uses a single sprue and gates directly from the sprue into the rim of his flywheels, with maybe a riser on the opposite side (check me on the riser), and this works well for him.
    I have used his technique, and it does work, however, if you want to go by the book, then use one or more runners with dead ends so that any lose sand gets trapped in the dead ends and does not get carried into the mold cavity.

I will try to dig out one of my flywheel runner/gating examples, not that my method is necessarily correct or better than anyone else's, but it works pretty well for me.
    My last flywheel casting had a heavy rim, and the rim ended up with shrinkage (with aluminum), so for a heavy rim, some risers to control shrinkage would be required.

The photos below were a prototype, and thus the use of the temporary painter's tape.
    I don't make permanent flask setups until I have proven the sprue/basin/runners/gates will work. I have also transitioned to all 0ne-piece patterns.