Ceramic kiln Any good for building a furnace?

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by welderskelter, Nov 1, 2022.

1. welderskelter

welderskelter Copper

I just remembered I have an old ceramic kiln in the back of an old van out here. Was wondering if they get hot enough to melt aluminum? Dont know anything about ceramics.

2. Ted Brown

Ted Brown Copper

I was thinking the same thing. Most of them I see say 2200f, so that should work for me (aluminum also). My plan was the turn the kiln upside down and build a lift to raise and lower it to the top (which is now the bottom). The crucible would sit on the old top upside down and then lower the kiln down and turn up the heat. This would eliminate the need to reach down inside and easier control of the crucible.

I'm a newbie, so I will wait for someone to shoot holes in that plan.

Ted

3. welderskelter

welderskelter Copper

I was just planning on using the insulation to build with. Never thought of using electricity to heat the aluminum with. Would be fun to hear some comments on that one. I figure it would be expensive . I think that is the reason you dont see many people doing ceramics now days.

4. crazybillybob

crazybillybob Silver Banner Member

I picked up an old Kiln for like $75 awhile back. It was on or off. High or low (all coils or 1 coil). I wasn't even sure if it worked. But for the price the Insulation was worth it. Turned out that it did work. Even came with a spare set of new elements. For around $150 I'm converting it to electronic control with programable ramps. That way I can try some lost wax or lost PLA. About the time that I got all the parts I had to put the project on Hold as I moved and I'm still waiting to get the new shop built (anytime now!) But you should be able to melt aluminum in a kiln. Their just not real fast at it.

Tobho Mott likes this.
  5. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member