Flask and Gating for Casting Weight

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Tops, Feb 15, 2023.

1. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member

Hello Everyone,
    Long story shortened...how would a person like me flask and gate this plate form for cast iron?
    Assets: pattern is made-drafted-rounded-Bondo'd-sanded-painted, oil bonded sand is available, cast iron will be available (invited to attend pour)
    Liabilities: my largest flask at the moment is only a strong inch (28mm) a side bigger than the pattern and 3" (75mm) deep cope and drag. I am still new to this and this is a large part for me.

-Start with larger flask?
    -How to position and gate/sprue/riser?

It is a casting weight and not an airplane part...so doesn't need to be flawless...but I also don't want it to go sideways while pouring. I still may be able to get some hands-on help with this from other iron casters before the event, contingent on travel plans. In case I cannot go early, I want to show up ready to mold and pour.

Thanks!

tops_castweight2.jpg

2. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

OK, I'll take a stab at it. It probably is thin enough not to develop shrinks. So, I think I'd just gate it one of the corners, tilt it up with that corner lowest and maybe a half inch of rise to the opposite corner. If it shrinks it should be in middle of the lobe nearest the gate. It is conceivable that a small shrink could happen in all 4 lobes as they will freeze off independently though the gated lobe should be hottest and freeze last and feed the others a bit.. If this were 1/2" thick, I think you would be safe. But, it is 3/4. Tough call.

I wonder if it really needs to be so complex. It seems like a simple keyhole or just a single eccentric oval should provide a widow to pour through and that window could be positioned however needed. When would four portals ever be needed?

Denis

Tops likes this.
  3. Tops