Hello from New Mexico

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Byrnie Mac, May 26, 2020.

1. Byrnie Mac

Byrnie Mac Lead

Hi everybody!

I have zero casting experience but I'm hoping there is somebody nearby to me that can show me the ropes.

Debating making my own furnace and trying a small pour, but I just want to make some copper ingots for now, and the heat requirement for copper makes me a little nervous for a 1st time homegrown setup.

If anyone is near Las Cruces, hit me up!

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Byrnie.
    Best off starting with something not so hot and working your way up as you get more experience and comfortable..

3. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Byrnie. Copper can be a tough one to manage.....in addition to the melt temp it oxidizes like crazy, but I'm sure you can get there with a little perseverance. You'll have to tell us about the attraction to copper.

Best,
    Kelly

4. Lou

Lou Copper

One thing I have melted a bit of is copper! Look forward to seeing what you come up with for melting it but yes, there are some ''tricks'' to getting sound Cu castings. We were electrowinning the Cu so it never mattered about the O content but I have been to some of the smelters where the copper must be very low O due to electrical conductivity requirements. Everything there is bathed with a natural gas flame. That copper can be rolled very easily.

5. Jason

Jason Gold

Welcome... and yes, start with aluminum. I cannot honestly think of one thing to cast with pure copper. Buss bars and that's about it. What is it you want to cast with copper??? If you just need something that looks like copper, cast bronze. it's 94% copper anyways and it behaves like a gentleman.