Hello from North East Ohio

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Old Jim, Dec 4, 2022.

1. Old Jim

Old Jim Copper

I am totally new to casting. The only experience I have is making lead sinkers as a kid. I can’t believe my dad let a 5th grader use a gasoline blow torch to melt lead. Kelly, I ran across your videos on YouTube and was really amazed with the process and what you have accomplished. So, I thought I’d like to give it a try. I have a pretty well equipped old school machine/fabrication shop and should be able to build just about anything I need. There is a foundry supply in Twinsburg, OH that is willing to sell hobby quantities of necessary materials and that’s not too far from where I live. My intention is to build an electric furnace along the lines of Kelly’s low mass example. I have a 30A 240V circuit available in my shop which should work if I limit my build to 6KW. That would be 9.6 Ohms of #14 Kanthal A or about 45 feet. Wound into a 3/16” ID coil expanded by a factor of 3 yields an element about 132” long. That should give me 4 wraps around the inside of the furnace.
    Since I really don’t know what I’m doing I’d appreciate any comments and advice you guys may have. The refractory work is going to have to wait until better weather since the suppliers supplier won’t ship if there is a risk of freezing. Since this is Ohio that’s March. Do my heating element calculations seem correct? Kelly, would you use pumpable for your hot face again or would you use moldable?
    This should be fun.
    Old Jim

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Jim.

I think 3/16" is a very tight ID for #14. Mine are wrapped at 3/8" ID which makes for 1/2"OD. My 14g kanthal A1 was abot .21ohm/ft so I do agree that 45ft would put you at about 25a and 6kw with 240vac. You do want 3:1 coil stretch but preferably not more than 5:1. I have a Kanthal design handbook that has some guidelines for wound coils. See attached.