Hello. Melt Nickel?

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Bill Kahn, Sep 1, 2019.

1. Bill Kahn

Bill Kahn Lead

Hello everyone.

I was sent here to thehomefoundry.org by a recommendation on hobby-machinist.com (my primary forum).

I have a small metal bar element collection. Each is 1" x 2" x 6". So far, 8 metals--Aluminum, Titanium, Tungsten, Iron, Magnesium, Copper, Zinc, Lead. And I have Tin and Bismuth on the way (I can melt those (and the Lead and Zinc) myself).

As a hobbyist I do not have the money to buy elements at commercial prices, so I have been scrounging remnants and succeeding at getting stuff at a reasonable cost. I have a hobby mill and machine larger pieces down to size as needed.

Macro-sized pieces of material are really interesting. Copper, of course for its color. Also for its conductivity and resulting Faraday induction properties. Tungsten makes the lead feel light. Magnesium makes the Aluminum feel heavy. The Bismuth has sparkly crystals. Titanium feels warm due to its small coefficient of thermal conductivity. A nice mantel collection.

Anyway, there are quite a number of further metals that are in principle affordable, but I find them in smaller form factors. In particular, I have come across an affordable source of 99% nickel. In small balls--like 1/4".

I am looking for someone has can melt like 6-ish pounds of nickel balls down into a 1" x 2" x 6" bar for me (minus nothing, plus ok). What is this service called? How do I search for such?

As my hobby is machining, not casting, I do not want to do this myself--would like to contract for it. If the nickel works out I have another few materials to follow up with similarly--like molybdenum and manganese.

Thank you for any thoughts as to how to melt/cast the Nickel.

Best,

Bill

Last edited: Sep 1, 2019
  2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

In small quantities, I am thinking an oxy-acetylene torch with a hearty little crucible.