It Is Me

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by joe yard, Jun 27, 2018.

1. joe yard

joe yard Silver

Cant believe this part of the forum has only used once.
    I will use it a second time. As on the profile page soon to be 58 forced retirement at 55 due to illness. I am happy to say steadily recovering from the life threatening part. I have what to me is a great shop that I have been putting together for 35 years. For now I am a bit limited in my endurance and mobility so I only get a very few hours a week in it. THAT IS CHANGING.
    This forum and the new project that it entails has been the first real project since the illness.
    I thank all of you and look forward to this one.
    I am new to this but not if you know what I mean. I have a 1983 copy of the charcoal foundry by Dave Gingerly. A quick GED along with a can do attitude built most of the things in the book along with a furnace made of a 5 gallon bucket in a 15 gallon can out of clay from the basement of this house. Later lined with refractory and converted to electric kiln style.
    As with my usual thoughts back then every thing was super sized.
    Back then with no internet I poured a lot of really bad stuff with cans. I learned the hard way about alloys but in the end poured a few very nice items. The biggest not over 15 Lb. It was a motorized rotatory table. Over the years I have built many large machines both for myself and industry.
    My first real build was an ultrahigh airplane. It was built in the house and assembled on the lawn.
    I taught myself to fly but never got a pilots license. Later after building a barn come more complex ultra lights 3 total and 1 experimental. That was the airplane years. Then come the well driller years. I will warn you. DON’T READ THE BACK PAGES OF POPULAR MECHANICS!