Joining your group

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Jklein, Apr 3, 2020.

1. Jklein

Jklein Copper

Hello All,
    I have been working on making my own larger furnace and came across this forum. There seems to be a ton of good information here that I will definitely use in reference for my furnace build.

A little about me, I'm currently an engineer at a steel foundry and have my own little foundry on the side. I currently have a smaller propane furnace that can melt around 15 lbs of aluminum, but I'm looking to build a larger one that can melt around 100 lbs or so.
    I am basing this new one off from Steve Chastain's book of a tilting oil fired furnace, but I have a few tweaks that (I hope) will allow me to make it a dip out furnace. I will be looking for insight on refractories and if the "brute" burner from backyard metal casting will suffice for a 18" ID furnace chamber. I can share 3D models of my furnace design when I have it complete and would be open to any suggestions you may have.
    Looking forward to discussing foundry topics with people who actually are interested in it.

2. Zapins

Zapins Gold

Sounds like you're as crazy as we are, welcome! Tons of good stuff here.

Of course the one rule we have on the forum is PICS OR IT DIDN'T HAPPEN.

What kind of parts are you making? What do you want to make with 100 lb pour capacity? Entire engine blocks?

This is the best place for real information. Facebook, youtube, etc are full of nonsense.

3. Jason

Jason Gold

Welcome aboard! Photos or it DIDN'T happen! We have about every method and specialty covered here. If these guys here can't figure out how to do something, it probably cant be done!
    Most of us are limited due to funds, wives or free time and this causes us to really think outside the box and lean on each other pretty hard.
    Iron? I'm not your guy. Bronze ceramic shell? That would be Zap or me and a few others. If you want a lost pla BP, David would be your man!:p