Lou from OH

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Lou, May 26, 2020.

1. Lou

Lou Copper

I see a lot of familiar names here! I first started back in the early 2000s on Bravenet then moved to the now, apparently defunct alloy avenue. Petee clued me in a week or so back and I'm glad I joined. It's really amazing to see all the great contributors and all the awesome work people are doing!

I'm a rank amateur at sand casting but have done and dealt with quite a bit of investment castings (namely turbine blades) and multipart graphite/copper molds through work which involves rather high end and specialized recycling. Sometimes it also melting precious metals into rather bland but yet shiny paperweights on fun days along with designing process chemistry. This has its perks, namely I get access to very fancy equipment including X-ray fluorescence spectroscopic analyzers, arc/spark OES and other equipment including many furnaces.

I've used and built several styles of furnaces including:
    • a charcoal and air fired hard firebrick furnace (my first one) would make a mess of most anything because I didn't know rich from lean and let's just say most of the time it was lean!
    • a charcoal and air fired 5' cupola and fire clay would barely melt bronze, also most of the time lean!
    • a propane fired (Reil burner) 30 something quart stainless stockpot using real refractory, would hold a #10
    • a propane preheated and oil fired trash can furnace that would hold a #20 which I used for brass, bronze, aluminum, magnesium, zamak copper and silver
    • a 810K BTU gas nose pivot tilt built #90 by myself and a good friend, who I hope will also join that is whisper quiet and has been a work horse for melting silver at work. It's ridiculously/comically overbuilt. The outside has yet to get hot after 8 melt sessions at 2200 F.
    • a T-80 center pivot MIFCO that takes a #100 and also used for melting silver