My latest furnace iteration

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Rtsquirrel, Jul 28, 2018.

1. Rtsquirrel

Rtsquirrel Silver

I've posted all this on AA already, but here it is again, just for more meat on the bones of The Home Foundry.
    My previous furnace was built with a DIY refractory cement, no insulation, and was functional for my solid fuel (charcoal & hardwood chunks) with a boost from a shop vac for maximum airflow. Needless to say, the beast looked like the backside of an F-15 with the afterburner on full.
    I was warned by the knowledgeable Salts of AA that my material would likely suffer catastrophically when I asked about burner design for my transition to propane fuel. I got a few good melts in, but could see the degradation of the DIY mix, and knew that I was going to have to pony up some real money for some real refractory cement as well as some insulation material. That knowledge became necessity after a complete noob move: fired up the beast, put the A12 in the belly and loader her up with aluminum ingot I had poured months prior. I paid no heed to that voice in my head that screamed THE CRUCIBLE HAS BEEN IN ATMOSPHERIC CONDITIONS FOR 4 MONTHS & THOS INGOT WERE SWIMMING IN WATER JUST A SECOND AGO! I put the lid on and walked away to set up the project I was planning on pouring. Some unusual pop's were heard from the beast, then one loud BOOM.
    I had done it. I was afraid to look, bit I did.
    Most of the refractory had been blown off, the A12 was in a thousand pieces, and a few ingot had opened up like M80's from Tijuana.
    I posted my failure to launch on AA, and faded into the distance.