need advice (sourcing manufacturer US/EU) & casting method!

Discussion in 'Lost wax casting' started by Jón Kristínarson, Mar 24, 2021.

1. firstly - before i begin - i should make clear i have no experience in metal casting. i used to be a welder about 20 years ago - but that's about it. no foundry experience. :D

so - i have a design that needs casting. i have been told that my design cannot be sand casted and that it was recommended that i consider lost-wax casting instead.

there are a couple issues with this. i live in iceland - there are only 2 foundries - and both only offer sand-casting. so i am having to now out-source elsewhere. i am looking at either a US manufacturer or the EU.

i am needing to know & understand what casting options work best for me and my design. the design will eventually be sold in the icelandic marketplace - a country of about 360 thousand.

for the year 2021 - i am hoping for 1st round to produce somewhere between 1000 to maybe 3500, 5000. and it 2021 proves to be successful - i will amp up much higher numbers for 2022.

i was told even with lost wax casting - machining will be needed. please review the attached images regarding part of the design - small radius(s).

sooooo
    - i need to source a manufacture first .
    - then i need an approximate quote (including machining, if needed) for either 1000, 3500 or 5000

can you help me? :)
    jón

Attached Files:

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Have you considered what material you need it made out of, and what are the design tolerances?
    It's possible that it could be made using lost wax casting, but that really depends on what kind of tolerance you need.
    Personally I think that you may need to have this part die cast. This would keep the price per part down, but the cost to make the mold itself is a considerable expense.

Jón Kristínarson likes this.
  3. DavidF

Or injection molded in plastic...

4. Al2O3