New to Foundry Work

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Fionnbharre Shotthafer, Apr 4, 2020.

?

What is the most durable all around crucible ... between fused silica... and graphite.

1. Graphite

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Fused Silica

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Hi I am just starting out. I decided after much looking around to buy a Fucina Furnace.
    https://fucina-forges.com/products/...elting-furnace-propane-forge-metal-melter-usa
    I had options to try to make my own but given I work full time and it seems like a lot of figuring out I thought this would be easier. I look forward to learning from everyone here and contributing where I can...
    I have some questions about crucibles and which are the most durable... which I need to know.

2. Jason

Jason Gold

Graphite. Build your own furnace.

FishbonzWV likes this.
  3. rocco

rocco Silver

That furnace seems like reasonable value for money however it doesn't appear have any sort of coating on the kaowool, that's important for your health and the longevity of the furnace. The video in THIS THREAD will show you how to apply a Satanite coating

Last edited: Apr 4, 2020
  4. Sintered magnesia :rolleyes:

Last edited: Apr 4, 2020
  5. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome. What metals do you plan to melt and cast?

Best,
    Kelly

6. Jason

Jason Gold

I wouldn't buy one of those furnaces.. Just another tin can with some kaowool and a 20dollar burner. When a company calls their furnace a forge, it tells me right off they don't know WTF they are doing. Besides, I spent less on my furnace that will last me easily a decade.

One more time for the easily confused.

Foundry-forge.jpg

7. rocco

rocco Silver

Actually, they call it a "Propane metal melting furnace propane forge metal smelter", which is least as wrong.