New to metal casting

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by JobvdBoom, May 7, 2020.

1. JobvdBoom

JobvdBoom Copper

Hi, my name is Job. I am from the Netherlands and i am studying for a mechanical engineering degree. One of my first words was 'tractor' and i have played with lego's a lot.

My father is a welder and at home we have a workshop with all kinds of tools. So afew years back i wanted to build a go kart from an old pedal kart and an old engine we had laying around, i learned to weld and fabricate and everything that goes with it. The go kart was lots of fun, but there is more: i have extended a bicycle (and been declared crazy by my friends :p), built a recumbent, rebuilt a moped engine and halfway built an off-road go kart/buggy. But now i want to build a moped myself and get it registered, and here comes the need for metal casting.
    I want to build a frame using frame lugs, and i preferably want to cast them just like in the olden days (since the moped's desing resembles a pre war 100cc motorcycle). So i researched how to build a foundry furnace and built one close to one that Keith Rucker built. I used 1600 degree celsius refractory so i should be able to melt iron in it.
    My furnace is on a box section frame which i can pick it up and move it with the pallet forks (so i can put it away when i don't need it) the burner and the oil tank are on the frame too making it 1 unit. I only need to attach the compressed air line and plug in the power.
    It runs on oil and it doesn't need any propane to start it up, all thanks to mr Oil Burner's 'instant light' oil vaporizer.
    Some pictures
    DSC_2773.JPG DSC_2782.JPG as you can see it's not done yet, i have fired it up two times already, but i need to find a proper fan and put the insulation blanket around the furnace and on the lid.

I'll stop rambling on because i'm only introducing myself.

Greetings, Job

Mark's castings and Tobho Mott like this.
  2. dtsh

dtsh Silver