Newbie from Pa.

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Fasted58, Oct 27, 2018.

1. Fasted58

Fasted58 Silver

Hi all and thanks for the add.

I'm new to metal casting. Although I've wanted to build a foundry since the 70's I never had the time, so finally decided it's now or never. Been a car guy since birth w/ many projects but prefer smaller projects now.

I've been researching builds well over a year and decided on an entry level propane burner and 1/2 keg build. Progress has been slow w/ work, family and life's commitments but it's starting to come along now.

My background is in the trades. Industrial pipe fitter since '81 and boiler operator since '03. I love metal work and fab. Decent little shop w/ MIG, TIG, O/A, I-R air compressor, drill press, shop press, tubing bender, tubing notcher, power tools etc. I can do most hobby work in house but it's been nice to have access to equipment at work.

Great site y'all have here, looking forward to learning metal casting.

I'm in SW PA about 50 miles SSE of Pittsburgh if there are any locals.

Thanks again.

Last edited: Oct 27, 2018
  2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

Welcome.
    There is a large knowledge base here (people and posts), and that is quite valuable when one is trying to learn how to cast metal and build a foundry.

You have come to the right place.
    Good luck; keep us up to date on your progress.

Fasted58 likes this.
  3. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Hi Fasted58, welcome to the forums!

Jeff

Fasted58 likes this.
  4. Jason

Jason Gold

Welcome aboard. Whatcha wanna make? Aluminum car parts? Bronze naked lady statues? Brass steam engine? What be your poison?
    Start with buying a crucible. It will really help you when you size up your 1/2 keg and when you make your tools. I've been using these cheapies from this seller and have had good luck.