Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Jimmy Cogg, Aug 6, 2018.

1. Jimmy Cogg

Jimmy Cogg Silver

Hi, my name's Jim. I'm very new to casting but have built a waste oil fired furnace based on a book by Colin Peck http://www.artfulbodgermetalcasting.com/. I'm very pleased with it and just getting to grips with how it works and functions. I've messed about in the recent past with very limited success with aluminium and brass but really want to "up my game" somewhat with lost wax casting. I've found Worldtraveller videos on youtube which have helped me immensely and given me a great deal of inspiration. So it is that I have found myself here. I've got a lot to learn!!! Anyway looking forward to doing a few projects in due course. Cheers and greetings from the UK.
    https://www.facebook.com/JimmyCogg

Rtsquirrel likes this.
  2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome to the forum Jimmy!!

Jimmy Cogg likes this.
  3. Jason

Jason Gold

Dont pay any attention to that clown on YouTube. He doesn't know a damn thing about this stuff. :eek:

Welcome Jimmy. Be sure to post your channel in the thread on general foundry chat. We love photos around here. David has built an excellent site and your work here is safe. No reason go off site. We started THF after the photobucket mess last year.

Jimmy Cogg likes this.
  4. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Gold Banner Member

Welcome! I hear great things about Peck's book. Let's see what you can make!

Lol, in case it wasn't clear, Jason is AKA worldtraveler...

Jeff

Jason and Jimmy Cogg like this.
  5. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Jimmy. No turning back now.

Best,
    Kelly

Jimmy Cogg likes this.
  6. PatJ

PatJ Silver

Welcome Jim.
    This is a good place to be for casting metal.

Photos are always welcomed.

Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
    Jimmy Cogg likes this.
  7. Rtsquirrel

Rtsquirrel Silver

Welcome Jimmy!

Jimmy Cogg likes this.
  8. crazybillybob