Precision PID controller

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Perseus123, Feb 16, 2021.

1. Perseus123

Perseus123 Lead

Anyone know any PID controller for a kiln or any heating hot plate to keep a precise temperature to the decimal and hold it there for days without it fluctuating?
    I don’t need high temps. 400c is fine. I bought an Auber PID but it’s garbage trash. Keeps fluctuating the temps and doesn’t stay on exact temp set. Also with auto tuning. Absolute precision accurate.
    Anything that avoids on/off bull if at all possible.

or maybe it’s the cheap SSR that won’t allow precision temps?

something like this video shows: constant same temp.

thanks.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
  2. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I’m no expert, but hysteresis is a factor that can be adjusted in PIDs. Have you tweaked that in your settings?

Denis

3. Perseus123

Perseus123 Lead

No I never messed with the hysteresis settings.
    I’m no expert either.
    I use an SSR and pt100. I don’t understand why cant these PID just keep a steady current to keep the exact temp. It goes on/off.

4. PID stands for Proportional Integral Derivative temperature controller, this means it measures any overshoot or undershoot errors and makes corrections on the fly. This means that it's going to get more precise the longer you run the temperature controller. It also means each time you turn it off it will go through the whole procedure from scratch. Even expensive quality units will do this if using the PID method to control temps. With a lot of experimentation you can alter the preset values to reduce the initial errors but that's about all.

5. Perseus123

Perseus123 Lead

Oh ok. Yes I understand.
    I left my kiln running even just for 50c temp target, it kept going up down but close but then it got out of auto tune . Shouldn’t it stay in auto tune until it stabilizes to precise temp?

6. Jason

Jason Gold