replicating a motorcycle intake

Discussion in 'Lost foam casting' started by GJL, Sep 8, 2021.

1. GJL

GJL Lead

Hello Home Foundary

I am a long time follower of this art and hobby. As a machinist I'm always looking to advance my skills. I seek the forums advice on how to proceed with this small project.

Looks simple, but I'm sure the devil is in the details......it's aluminum, approx dimensions 1.5" x 4" (image)

I am thinking the lost foam method would be the best approach.

What say the forum?

Thank you!

GJL

[​IMG] intake.jpg

2. GJL

GJL Lead

3. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

First, welcome!

These parts come complete with parting lines from when they were cast. Lost foam might be a good way to go. But, I’d think Petrobond and a wood box would be a far simpler way to get started. And it should work fine. I’d use the original part as a pattern realizing I’d lose about 1-2% size. There are ways around that if that’s an issue. You will need a core, of course. Make core box by 1) splitting an original part and adding on bits to index in the core print or 2) use a replicating rubber from Smooth-On or Freeman to make a core.

There are some great lost foam folks here and they may see it differently. That my take as a sand caster.

Denis

GJL likes this.
  4. GJL

GJL Lead

Hello Denis
    Thank you for the welcome and responding!
    Am I correct to understand that you're suggesting making a two part mold and abandon the lost foam approach? (see attachment)
    Petrobond instead of sand?
    Does the replicating rubber remain in during the pour? My readings are that the replicating rubber is limited to 600'ish.

Thank you again!

Attached Files:

5. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Lots of ways you could cast them. Just depends on what you have on hand equipment wise and how many you plan on making...

GJL likes this.
  6. GJL

GJL Lead

The hollow part aspect is what confuses me................

7. DavidF