Thinking about home security surveillance

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by OMM, Nov 30, 2019.

1. OMM

OMM Silver

Has anybody taken the dip???

The Black Friday weekend deals got me to go out and buy A new thermostat for my home. I am a bit old school, I’ve been refusing to upgrade for many years. I still have the Mercury style thermostat. After all the discounts, I bought a Nest third generation for $132cad (out the door).

With the black Friday discounts being applicable until Wednesday (in my parts), i’m thinking about adding on cameras.

I don’t have fancy cars (you can go to doors down for that and they were broken into). I do have two dogs that go stupid barking if something odd is in their sites (but they’re both 10 years old). Now 40% of my neighbourhood is videoed.

My next-door neighbour had his first videoed package thief on Friday. I get it, Christmas is around the corner and Amazon now drops on the door, and the thieves are looking. Somebody is at home almost 24/7, and in my situation and most of the time the dogs alert for a non-doorbell delivery.

Nest is now been purchased by Google. And I’m learning about their high fees.

Anybody care to share their experiences?