Where to buy Suspendaslurry?

Discussion in 'Lost wax casting' started by FKreider, Apr 4, 2019.

1. FKreider

FKreider Copper

What is best option for purchasing suspendaslurry and/or any other slurry in a 5gal pail? Are people sourcing from local distributors or online source?

2. Jason

Jason Gold

For you in Mass? Take a drive to Ohio. You have to have them ship the 5gallon pail and the 2bags of silica... Rancosil part A and Part B. Each 55lb a bag. The shipping is not as much as you'd think it would be.

Ya might look at this page I wrote on SS. http://forums.thehomefoundry.org/index.php?threads/ceramic-shell-supplier-r-r.676/
    Zap has the information of Remet. I have no experience with the stuff he runs and from what I've seen, I'm not warm and fuzzy with it either.

3. FKreider

FKreider Copper

Hi Jason,

Thanks for the link to that write up, very helpful. I searched before posting however that did not come up, I must have used the wrong key words.

It seems that the "start up" cost of using the SS is more expensive than traditional investment however it appears that larger items are cast more easily vs. the more jewelry industry style of doing things. Also it looks like you don't need to mess around with pulling a vacuum with the SS method.

4. Jason

Jason Gold

That is correct. No vacuuming is needed with shell. For anything larger than 5inches, shell is the way to go. Traditional solid investment as used in making jewelry is still king when it comes to very fine details. With that said, I have seen my fingerprints in metal running ceramic shell. Yes it's going run you around 300bucks to get setup with the materials and then there is the added pain in the ass of dewax. But the results are oh so worth it. Take a peek at my YouTube channel, lots of good stuff that will help you learn how to use this stuff.

Whatcha planning on making??

Last edited: Apr 5, 2019
  5. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Ditto...

6. FKreider