Which milling machine model?

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by Zapins, Jan 31, 2021.

1. Zapins

Zapins Gold

I'm budgeting for a milling machine in the next few months looking at the end of April or May. I've been looking at different models.

I'm thinking a bridgeport series 2, 4 hp with power feeds. Or a converted CNC bridgeport-mill of some type.

What models should I stay away from?

What models should I keep an eye out for?

2. Robert

Robert Silver

A BP Series II is a larger heavier version than the series one. Probably too heavy for a hobbiest. I would stick with a series I. I am no expert in the head models but I would try to get a variable speed. There is a lot that can go bad in the head so check that out carefully. There are a lot of clones out there that are also good machines so it does not need to be an actual BP. I would definitely make sure you get a spindle with an R8 taper. That will be easiest to find tooling for. Some of the smaller mills like the Clausing, Rockwell, Burke have MT or B&S tapers.
    If you have space limitations and not so much budget limitations, look at the Precision Matthews 728.
    Robert

Jason likes this.
  3. A Bridgeport clone with a CAT30-40 taper spindle would be nice to have for the increased rigidity and horsepower capability, especially if CNC. Also there's less competition and cheaper prices when buying secondhand tooling compared to the R8 taper and 40 taper tooling is pretty common and relatively cheap secondhand.

4. Jason

Jason Gold

Series 1 Zap. I can just about promise you will not outgrow that machine. AND get the longest table you can find. This will help when you need to make a long pass on the X.
    If you get some little BS 36inch table, you'll be lucky if you can machine 18" on the X. (just tossing numbers for you short table owning guys)

I will probably catch a bunch of crap for this, but AVOID the non variable speed BP's.