Difficulty melting copper

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by FKreider, Aug 26, 2019.

1. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

I have no experience at all with brass so I can't offer any educated advice, however I have a fair amount of experience with runouts. Weight on top of the cope or bar clamps will keep your cope from floating. It may not have floated on you this time but at some point it will, maybe next time. I generally use a piece of scrap wood over top of the mold leaving sprue an risers exposed, then stack a couple brake rotors on top or else bar clamps - not real tight, just enough to keep it from rising. I've clamped just the edges of the flask and had the sand heave on large flat castings and even though that might be rare, I keep it covered.

Pete

2. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

Good point, Petee. One other convenient way to clamp cope to drag is to simply use small plywood tabs that bridge the seam and have a couple screws in one flask and one in the other. On the flasks shown I would use 3/8” or 1/2” plywood maybe 2” by 4” one on the front and one on the back.

Such tabs do not prevent heaving, of course. If that is a concern, plywood boards can similarly be screwed to the top of the cope.

Number 8 square drive pan head screws of appropriate length are quick and convenient. I drive them with an impact driver or , to avoid vibration on the mold, into pre- drilled holes with a screwdriver.

I like the screwed-on patches as you don’t have the clutter of bar clamps nor weight of weights.

Denis

3. FKreider

FKreider Copper

Interesting video from bigstackD Casting on Youtube this week, he compares 4 furnaces all running propane:

It appears that the ceramic wool furnaces use less fuel and melt quite a bit faster than refractory cement furnace. Interesting.

4. Jason

Jason Gold