Newbie from South Wales, U.K.

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Miles74, Nov 3, 2021.

1. Miles74

Miles74 Lead

Hello to everyone here. My name is Ian and I’m based is South Wales in the U.K.

I have been reading the forum for a little while as a guest, finally decided it was time to join.

My main objective here is to learn the magic of lost foam casting. I’m a radio Ham, and I’m sick of buying Aluminium boxes, heatsinks, chassis, parts and castings for projects when I could be making them myself.

I have no equipment as of yet (hoping to build what I can). Total newbie to this subject, so I hope the occasional daft question is tolerated :)

I look forward to chatting with you.

many thanks, Ian

2. Mach

Mach Silver

Welcome Ian, nice to have you here. I'm on a similar path regarding lost foam. Looking forward to seeing your projects.

3. Miles74

Miles74 Lead

Thanks Mach, it’s a fascinating subject. My primary goal is to learn enough to build the kit I need to start experimenting, so project pieces may be a little way off.

I’m concentrating on furnace construction ideas at the moment. I’m pretty sure I’ll have to go down the electric route (less noise /fumes to upset the neighbours), plus electric is the cheap fuel option at present.

There is so much information in here, it will take a while to digest what I need

4. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

5. Miles74

Miles74 Lead

Hi Kelly,

Honestly, it’s a pleasure to get a message from you. I have been watching your videos. Your a very talented guy.

Good call with the hot wire cutter. I have a simple one that was used for making parts for RC aircraft many moons ago, but it’s likely dead or in need of a rebuild (I think I have one anyway… last saw it in the attic many a moon ago), so likely a good time to make a new cutter.

After seeing your manifold builds, I may need to brush up my foam modelling skills too.