Safety reminder

Discussion in 'Foundry tools and flasks' started by Chazza, Jan 23, 2021.

1. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I bought a fairly large container of graphite a while back. Makes a very good parting powder and slicks the pattern for clean draws. I use ground sea coal in my sand to improve finish though graphite should also work.

Denis

2. bill

bill Silver

Never heard of it. But i'm new at this. So I looked it up. I guess that works better than talc or similar facing powder. I use more petrobond than green sand so i'm always a little leery about what I am mixing into the sand.

Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  3. Melterskelter

Bill, The sea coal would be used for iron casting. Petro is not commonly used for iron as the heat burns the petro quite badly I am told—-no experience casting iron into petrobond

Denis

4. bill

bill Silver

I'm still learning how to roll over and crawl. LOL

I do lost wax mostly, petrobond is the second method I use for the flat pieces. Greensand was the first method I used and I love how easy it was to make myself. I don't want to sound naive I know greensand is a science in itself. Cast iron is a little too hot for my little setup. Maybe someday. What kind of things do people cast with cast iron at home. Honestly I cant think of one thing, but i don't do any machining or anything like that.

5. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Fixed my lathe.

image.jpeg image.jpeg

6. dennis

dennis Silver

Esc here - I think - has cast iron in Petrobond. It does devour the sand, much as you've said.

7. Melterskelter

There are good many folks who cast iron to make model steam engines, make working scale-model trains, make parts for vintage cars and tractors, make straight edge castings (me), make special tooling for lathes, milling machines, and so on.

Denis

8. bill

bill Silver

That makes sense casting parts like that. I kinda live in the artsy world at the moment.