Michigan moulder reporting

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Paperman, Sep 1, 2021.

1. Paperman

Paperman Copper

Good day, another FNG here. Aircraft mechanic by trade, maintenance supervisor at a paper mill by profession. I’m reading all I can, I’ll try to search before I ask. I have a local group if new guys interested as well. I’m slowing gathering tools and material. Thanks for acceptance so far.
    RK

2. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome Rk. Any particular casting goals in mind?

3. Paperman

Paperman Copper

Other than make perfect castings…..no. Now that that dream is shattered, I just want to learn the craft to add to my skills. Many times I have had either an idea to improve something or a need to remake a part where a small casting would have really helped.

I like old things and allot of times those old things are missing a part. I’ve made lots of them in a lathe and mill but I’d like to learn to cast them.

DavidF likes this.
  4. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome paperman..
    Aircraft mechanic?? Look out for Jason!! Lol

5. OMM

OMM Silver

Jason's OK! He's somewhat blunt, to the point. He helps out when applicable. But, he will bluntly say when you're not doing something very kosher.

Just don't show pouring metal in sandals and shorts and you'll be OK.

6. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

That's funny. I saw your first post and thought "Hmm. Maintenance supervisor. The guy probably wants to learn one more thing." (I have several close acquaintances with that title -all retired. I call them my industrial arts sponsors because they seem to know at least a little of everything and I get quite a bit of help from them).