Hello From Austin Texas

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Austin-T, Dec 1, 2021.

1. Austin-T

Austin-T Lead

Hello my name is Sal im from Austin Texas. I am brand new to Metal Casting. As in I've never done it before, never seen it, and know nothing about it but would like to learn.

Any books and or other resources would would be greatly appreciated. Where do I get the tools and other misc. accessories etc.

I am interested in learning how to cast Iron and Steel.

I am not sure if I want to build my own waste oil furnace though I am capable of it. If they are available for purchase somewhere Id also consider it.

I have been reading some posts on here about Electric Induction furnaces. I am really attracted to them but know very little about them and where to get one. My shop has 3 phase power with 1200 amps coming in.

Id like the ability to cast at least 50Lbs. of metal at a time.

If there is anybody located geographical close to me id like to meet you.

Any help, comments, and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
    Sal

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Sal,

First off, for a first time caster and hobbyist, 50lbs of any metal is ambitious and especially so for iron, and even more so for steel. You might want to tell us a little more about your ambitions because if your interest is merely because you need a few castings, the amount of learning and invested time to succeed would be very large compared to sourcing. Besides melting and molten metal handling and management, there are molds, mold materials, casting process, safety......etc.....many things to master

If your aim is a production environment, there are other mountains to climb including regulation.

Just the same, we have members here casting metals in those amounts with the exception of steel. To my knowledge, we have one member that is melting steel near those levels, but not sure where he has gotten to as to actual steel castings.