2 stroke cylinder core

Discussion in 'Pattern making' started by Gradella, Jan 1, 2023.

1. Gradella

Gradella Copper

Hello guys, i'm new here.
    i'm looking for advice about core boxes design.
    I designed my own 50cc 2 stroke cylinder, and since i'm too poor to pay someone to study and manifacture all the necessary stuff for casting, i'm trying to model and create the core boxes by myself via 3d printing.

I've already tried some prints and coated them with a special filler, and the results were good: optimal roughness, perfect alignment and coupling.

The problem is that since this is my first experience with castings, i'm experiencing some difficulties at "reverse thinking" to obtain the right planes and angles and all.
    I'm a mechanical designer with skills on Creo 7, so the software part is not too much of a problem (even if i needed to learn some surfaces features i wasn't used to).
    I thought that maybe an expert eye can solve in 5 minutes what i'd need 5 days to understand.
    -First of all: i know that i usually need a min 2-3° draft angle to extract the cores, but can i just ignore that where i don't need a strict dimensional control? For example on the outside shell or in some liquid pattern surfaces? i don't care if the sand rubs on the walls a little. The local foundry man said that he's not using my boxes if they're at 90°... upload_2023-1-1_23-0-16.png

-there are some surfaces, especially those in the ducts, than i can't reshape to avoid a negative draft: how can i design the core boxes in these cases? (The green core) upload_2023-1-1_23-0-16.png upload_2023-1-1_23-0-16.png Cattura4.PNG

-any suggestion on how to divide the box for the fuchsia core? if i divide it in two halves i always have negative angles (see the yellow and orange models) 20221223_115342.jpg Cattura6.PNG Cattura5.PNG
    20221223_115228.jpg
    thanks for your attention
    Andrea

2. BattyZ

BattyZ Silver Banner Member