Another UK member.

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Crockpot, Apr 11, 2021.

1. Crockpot

Crockpot Copper

I found home foundry after looking for forums after AlloyAvenue went AWOL. So here I am.
    I have a home built foundry, made from a propane bottle. It uses an also home made propane burner.
    So far all I have done is make some ingots and that was a while back. I have a small project in mind so it's time to delve into it again.
    I have a small machine shop at home, lathe and mill plus mig and tig welders along with an assortment of kit acquired over the years. I should add I'm retired so time is all my own:)
    I'll stop babbling now. Don't expect a great input from me as I'm a rank amateur at this but I will be along occasionally with dumb questions:rolleyes:

Cheers and thanks for the forum,

Paul

Tobho Mott and Ferrisbeu like this.
  2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Paul. You've already taken the first step in the ability melt and handle molten metal. Now onto patterns, mold materials, and molding. Looking forward to your progress. What do you have in mind for a first project?

Best,
    Kelly

Crockpot likes this.
  3. Welcome Paul, this is a great place to learn and let people learn from you. We're all amateurs for the most part. There are a lot of resources here.

My advice is to melt and pour. Practice is one of the best teachers. And show us what you're doing. Pictures are appreciated. We would also like to lust after your equipment.

Crockpot likes this.
  4. Crockpot

Crockpot Copper

Thanks for the welcome guys.
    I'm still a a way from getting started properly with pattern making etc.
    First project is a fuel injection manifold for a Chrysler 318 I'm rebuilding. Sounds ambitious but it's not, construction is two cast manifold slabs, a flat valley cover and fabricated runners and plenums.