Anyone tried Reverse Vortex Flow on their crucible furnace?

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Preston Smith, Feb 2, 2022.

1. Preston Smith

Preston Smith Copper

In some other work I've done, I studied a type of non-thermal gliding arc plasma generator that used reverse vortex flow to achieve several things:
    • increased gas residence time
    • thermal gradient (cool on outer wall, hot in the core)
    • increased fraction of gas in plasma arc
    Basically, if we moved the tuyere to the top, just under the lid, the combustion flow should go down the wall and then reverse course by spiraling up out the vent through the core. A similar effect can be achieved in a vortex tube by closing the cool end outlet.

The primary benefit for us may be to increase residence time for more complete combustion/thermal transfer. May also reduce the thermal load on the refractory walls. Thoughts?

2. Billy Elmore

Billy Elmore Silver

I have a three piece furnace with the center being reversible. It would not be very hard to try it in that set up. I may do that one day and see what transpires.

3. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

Hmmm, why wouldn’t the combustion gas just take the shortest and easiest path up and out the vent? There must be a few more bits to the configuration you are proposing. When I look this concept up what I see are empty chambers with inflow and outflow paths that don’t seem to have anything like a crucible occupying the main area that would be used for reverse flow. So it makes me wonder how this process would work in a furnace with a crucible occupying 3/4 or 4/5 of the central area. Have you seen a combustion chamber comparable to our furnaces utilizing this concept? I do see proposed cyclonic separators set up this way and experimental plasma generators similarly setup.

Denis

Denis

4. Jammer

Jammer Silver Banner Member