"Cheap as chips".....homemade crucibles.....the story so far....

Discussion in 'Foundry tools and flasks' started by Jimmy Cogg, Oct 12, 2018.

1. Jimmy Cogg

Jimmy Cogg Silver

Here is how I make my home made crucibles. Capacity one litre of metal. Looking to make a bigger one......looking for a suitable pattern/mold......(plant pot????)

Once properly fired, they are very strong. I retire them early after 3/4 pourings as I am new to this, and am still experimenting. All the retirees have been good. I am going to push this next batch a bit further. I have been very surprised how strong and resilient they are. I have tested a few with a hammer!!!! They ring like a bell once struck and seem to get stronger with each firing. But unglazed (as mine are) they are very rough and the slag sticks very well to the surface of the crucibles.

I have found that the retired crucibles make great supports for ceramic shells. The shells I have made I just put in the furnace inside a retired crucible. Fire the shell in the retired crucible and remove it in the crucible....it remains very hot due to the thermal mass of the retired crucible and is also in quite a stable position for pouring into.....a win/win situation :-D

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Looks good, but yes you really need to endurance test them for longevity.
    I have concerns with the crucible being flexed when pulled from the mold in it's green? state developing cracks later on. Don't know if it is an issue or not, but maybe?

Jimmy Cogg likes this.
  3. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Thanks video Jimmy. I've been waiting for this one.

1. Why do you retire them after only 3-4 pours?
    2. What is your initial drying cabinet? Just low warmth and air flow?
    3. Have you ever considered adding graphite or SiC to improve thermal conductivity. I have heard of people using abrasive blasting media for SiC.