Core Making Supplies

Discussion in 'Pattern making' started by John Homer, Jan 22, 2021.

1. John Homer

John Homer Silver

I am new to the core Making world. I am making core boxes for a new project. Looking for a supplyer and recommendations on what products to use. I don't want to bake the cores due to time. Would like to use the C02 method. Any help is appreciated.

2. rocco

rocco Silver

I used n-grade sodium silicate that I got from a local pottery supply house. I've been told it's not the optimal type of silicate for this purpose but I was able to make it work, the process is pretty quick and easy. Here's an old video I made of my core making process, it was shot in real time, no cuts or edits.

The sand was "brick" sand from a local building supply which I screened to remove the big chunks of grit, and it was mixed at ratio of 6% silicate by weight. Most of the literature you read will say 4% by weight but I found that was inadequate, maybe because I wasn't using the most appropriate type of silicate.

Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
    John Homer likes this.
  3. John Homer

John Homer Silver

Thanks for the information.

4. I put my core box into a plastic tub with a lid. Also put a cup of baking soda in the box. I pour some vinegar into the baking soda cup which makes CO2 and water. I put the lid loosely on the tub and wait about five to ten minutes. CO2 is heavier than air and purges the tub of air.

For my hammer head cores, 1/2"x3" I use a gallon ice cream tub and about three tablespoons of vinegar. Pour of the water and leave the wet remaining baking soda in the cup. I don't vent my hammer head head cores. Bigger cores I vent with a small wire. I'm always surprised how the CO2 finds it's way into a closed core box. Of course the parting line is a crack as well.

When I need pressurized CO2 I make it in a bottle with a hose coming from a hole in the lid which I can insert into a core.

Quick, easy, and very cheap. And my CO2 supply is never empty.