Heat Treat Oven for Iron Build

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Melterskelter, Mar 15, 2021.

1. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I am just beginning the build of a heat treat oven for my cast iron castings. Presently I heat treat my 18” and smaller castings in a front loading pottery kiln I bought years ago for not much money. It works great for both stress relief (1150F) and full annealing (1750F) castings. But my larger castings, the largest being 48” long and 9” high or 30” long by 12” high I have to transport 60 miles to a heat treater. That is a big time eater and some expense, so I decided to build a 2000 watt oven consisting of a galvanized-sheet-metal and angle iron box lined with wool and heated with 16ga Kanthal A1. I am using relatively low wattage as that will make the furnace electrical connection more convenient as I have existing circuits in two locations that will easily handle it.

52x14x14” box that will be top loading. 95% of the time it will be simply stress relieving parts.

I will be using a 10-key Bartlett controller ( on order and identical to the one on my front-loader) rather than a cheaper 3-key controller as I will often be switching programs and just don’t have the patience for adjusting ramp up, max temp, hold time, and ramp down with up and down arrow pads. The Bartlett appears to require a 24v AC center tap transformer to power the board. I have various incidentals on order as well including a 30 amp switch, Mica high-temp wire, etc.

I”ll post occasional updates on progress or lack thereof. Not all the details are worked out. The heating element will be in the lid.

Denis

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Should be a fun project. How many lbs of iron per batch?

Wise move. The 3 keys are a PITA.
    Not sure about that but probably ok. Where will you measure temp? Any air circulation?