Hello from Northern Minnesota

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Uglydog, Jul 9, 2022.

1. Uglydog

Uglydog Copper

I'm a retired Paramedic and Firefighter from the MN metro relocated to northern Minnesota.
    I did manual mill and lathe work on the side.

I have several acquaintances with unused random home foundry items so they came to live here. The accumulation goes a long way to having a complete home foundry. This week I was gifted two small commercial furnaces, crucibles and several large flasks. I still need to get them unloaded (today?) and identify what is actually on the trailer, as the fork lift driver just kept piling stuff on.

Anyway... I suspect these crucibles are to large to safely lift with tongs and will need to build a jib crane or similar. Drat! Another shop project....

My first activities here will be to identify if a jib crane will do the job safely and effectively, and what that might look like. As well as if propane will fire these furnaces and if so how large of LP bottles I will need. I have much to learn on so many topics!!!

In the end my emphasis is always safety.

Daryl
    MN

Tobho Mott likes this.
  2. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member

Hello from southern MN!
    Do you have some items to make in mind?

3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

That’s the stuff dreams are made of!

Welcome Uglydog. You’ll find this place well worth the price of admission.
    Larger equipment generally means a larger tank, but let’s see what you’ve got and we’ll see what happens.
    Pictures are encouraged!

Pete

Tops likes this.
  4. Uglydog

Uglydog Copper

Thanks,
    Projects: these could all be wood or weldments. The capacity of the new flasks and crucibles will potentially allow some of the following.....
    1) shelf to place on top of the aluminum 4x4 post at end of the fishing dock. To hold a few bass lures, complete with a recess for two beverages.