In search of knowledge

Discussion in 'Lost wax casting' started by Fierillo, May 13, 2021.

1. Fierillo

Fierillo Lead

Hi everyone! Im new here! I found this place looking good sources for make my final career tesis.

My background is 1 year of work in a small lost wax workshop, for that reason i know the basics, but my company there isnt very competitive.

Im looking for experience, good practices and ingenious techniques that can bring me good knowledge in order to make a usefull tesis. I dont want make a mediocre and standar work.

Please help me!

My first question is about wax. when i worked in the company i had a lot of problems with wax, the model tend to deform or make defects like this

upload_2021-5-13_18-21-28.png

Also some pieces were shrinking because wax properties.

My second question is about slurry proces, i know that the number of layers is important but if i put too many layers then the permeability of the shell is too low and that bring to holes in the casted piece.

upload_2021-5-13_18-33-17.png

Then i had a lot of problem with complex designs like this
    How it started.
    upload_2021-5-13_18-35-13.png

How it is going
    upload_2021-5-13_18-35-51.png

I have more doubts but i cant be so anoying and make a post too large.

Sorry for the suffering caused for see this pictures. Im trying to make my best.

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

upload_2021-5-13_17-58-56.png

This is pretty large for conventional work, the defects I'm seeing appears to be caused by a low mold temperature. What was the mold material and how was the wax injected into the mold?? upload_2021-5-13_17-58-56.png

3. Fierillo

Fierillo Lead

The mold was made of alluminium, i didnt control of mold temperature, but the mold trended to increase temperature in the run of the journey, then of 6 hours the inyection needed stop because mold were too hot and the wax trend to deform and shrinking, ruining the piece.