Insetting 3-D Printed Patterns into a Match Plate. (Avoids fillet problems)

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Melterskelter, Jan 4, 2023.

1. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I have been printing patterns for a few months now. And, in some cases, using them on match plates. One annoying factor associated with putting them ON match plates has been having to make a fillet where the piece glues onto the plate. I have used various methods which have made the job easier but still not fool- proof. It finally dawned on me to print the part on a base plate that could be inset into the board. Of course, there still is a seam to deal with, but it is a seam on the flat surface of the plate rather than a very fussy inside corner. And that makes all the difference. That inside corner is now printed into the part with a generous radius perfectly formed by the printer.

So, last night I printed a sprue and riser on 1/8" (arbitrary) thick base plates to be attached to the match plate for my angle plate. I have a good sharp 3/4" end mill that I will use to let the base plates into the pattern board. The base plates have 3/8" corner radiuses to allow a snug fit in the mortises I'll cut in the match plate board. Unlike the inside corner seam, the resulting flat seam need not be finished perfectly to avoid sand break out.

Here are a couple pics:

In progress. For scale, the pieces are each about 3 inches high. Spruew and riser in progress.JPG
    Finished. There are screw holes in the bases for fixing them in place. They will be coated with XTC-3D epoxy to make them slick. (The squarish base on the sprue accomodates a ceramic filter 2x2")
    Spruew and riser on the build plate..JPG

From now on all my pattern pieces will be printed on such a base plate.

Denis

Tobho Mott likes this.
  2. Rocketman

Rocketman Silver Banner Member

Excellent technique, I will have to keep that one in mind.